Technology Services > Employee Services

Training Schedule

 

 Online training 

 The university has licensed usage of Lynda.com for unlimited training for students, faculty and staff. To access Lynda.com training go to http://www.lynda.com/portal/samford  and then sign in using your Samford username and password.  Once logged in you can search for topics such as Excel 2013, Adobe Creative Cloud, or Moodle 2.6 and begin using training resources. If it is your first time logging in you will be prompted to create a new account.

 Individual training

 If you need assistance with a specific technology or related service please contact the technology help desk at 726-2662 or  support@samford.edu.

 Group training sessions

 Training sessions will be held throughout each term and will cover a variety of topics. Please see below for planned training dates and topics. Each workshop lasts approximately 50 minutes.  Contact the help desk if you see a need for training on a specific technology not provided below. Reservations can be made online at https://www2.samford.edu/eve/index.php?filter=facstaff&he=no.

 

Training Workshop Schedule for Fall '14  
         
Sept 2 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Introduction to Moodle
         
Sept 4 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Introduction to Moodle
         
Sept 9 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 The Moodle Grade Book
         
Sept 11 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 The Moodle Grade Book
         
Sept 16 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Communication Tools: Forums, Chats, and Quicklmail
         
Sept 18 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Adding Multimedia Resources to Moodle
         
Sept 23 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Adding Assingments to Moodle
         
Sept 25 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Using Turnitin Assignments in Moodle
         
Sept 30 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Scheduling Meetings Using Outlook
         
Oct 2 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Adding Social Media Feeds to Moodle
         
Oct 7 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Adding Voice Overs to MS Powerpoint
         
Oct 9 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Managing Assesments in Moodle
         
 Fall Break Oct 13-14th    
         
Oct 21 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Creating and Using a Wiki in Moodle
         
Oct 23 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Using the Lesson Activity in Moodle
         
Oct 28 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Using the Workshop Activity in Moodle
         
Oct 30 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Using the Moodle Grade Book
         
Nov 4 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Communication Tools: Forumes, Chats, and Quickmail
         
Nov 6 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Using Respondus for Assessment Composition
         
Nov 11 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Using Turnitin Assignments in Moodle
         
Nov 13 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Adding Social Media Feeds to Moodle
         
Nov 18 Tue 1pm Brooks 305 Managing Assessments in Moodle
         
Nov 20 Thur 3pm Brooks 305 Adding Voice Overs to Powerpoint

 


technology help center

pisture  

205-726-2662
phone support

pisture  
pisture  

Locations
Service Desk, offices, computer labs

Helpdesk  

Submit a Service Desk Request
online support center

pisture  

Submit a Project Request
online project system

pisture  

Technology in Learning Center
services and equipment checkout

pisture  

Wireless
tools and information

pisture  

Change Password
self-service password tools

pisture  

Training
workshop schedule & tools