Samford University

Print this page

Samford Announces Inauguration Committee

Posted on 2006-06-19 by Philip Poole  (205) 726-2823

Samford University has announced the appointment of the planning committee for the inauguration of new Samford President Andrew Westmoreland. Westmoreland became president on June 1.

Committee co-chairs are Birmingham businessman William J. Stevens, chairman of Samford's board of trustees, and J. Bradley Creed, Samford provost and executive vice president.

Other committee members are Taylor Clement, Student Government Association president, representing students; James N. Lewis, vice-dean, Samford's Cumberland School of Law, representing the staff; Sarah C. Latham, special assistant to the president; Michael D. Morgan, vice president for university relations; and Don Sandley, professor of theatre, representing faculty.

The installation ceremony will be at 10 a.m. on Nov. 2. Other inauguration events and plans will be announced later, Stephens said, and additional subcommittees are expected to help the planning committee as plans are developed and implemented.

close x